A Summer of Sires, Semen & Social Media – Leaving My Legacy

Ten weeks have come and gone faster than I can say “7HO11351 SUPERSIRE”. At the start of this internship, I was asked what I wished for my “legacy” to be as the 2015 All West/Select Sires Communications Intern and I wrote:

“I started college terrified of the fact that everyone around me seemed to know exactly what they wanted to do four years in advance while I was still struggling to discover the answer to the dreaded question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” Now, 3 years later preparing to start my 4th internship in the industry and my 4th year of college in the Fall, I still have yet to determine the answer to that question. However, I am not terrified anymore. I am confident in the fact that I want a career that I am passionate about and that makes me happy. As an intern with All West/Select Sires, I would like my “legacy” to be left as a hard working, positive and passionate young agriculturalist. It would be great to see my name in print on my work done here, either through text, photography or video. I plan on making lasting connections within this company and the dairy industry, in hopes of continuing work as an agricultural communicator for the industry upon graduating college. At this point in my education and career searching, I am open to absolutely any experience and opportunity presented to me and I am excited to see what my future holds.”

On my last day of this internship, I think (and hope) I lived up my predicted legacy. I still do not know what I am going to do as a career upon graduation, but I have a better idea after having worked for a company so dedicated to its employees and customers. Working with people who love what they do, truly care about company success, treat each other like family and work hard for the benefit of others has encouraged me to strive for a career that grants me the same rewards. I obviously learned about more than genetics and artificial insemination. Along the way, I listened to wise words of advice regarding college, careers, love and life in general from past and present board members, employees and dairy farmers.

Here’s to a summer of valley adventures, insightful interviews, exciting proofs, random disco dance parties in the office, beef sales, inventory days complete with hot dogs for lunch, video conferences with our Washington family, office dog cuddles and licks, early morning cattle evaluations, and most importantly a summer of semen, sires and social media. I am off to enjoy one more year as a Cal Poly Mustang… then who knows, I might even end up right back where I spent this summer.

IMG_5781

Thank you for making me part of your family All West/Select Sires!

2 thoughts on “A Summer of Sires, Semen & Social Media – Leaving My Legacy

Leave a Reply

